Rules for Reverends

August 26, 2013 § 3 Comments

Rules PicDig deep enough into this blog and you’ll find the origins of Rules for Reverends. The Bible Reading Fellowship have just published it, and on Saturday I had the altogether new experience of sitting at a table at Greenbelt signing it for perfect strangers – and some old friends too.

It started because I returned to parish ministry in 2009 after 10 years working for a bishop and then in a cathedral. Some of the ‘truths’ of parish ministry came back to me, and some hit me in a new way. After one visit, where I just knew that the house I was looking for in the dark would be the one without a number, and that when I got there the doorbell wouldn’t work, I put 10 such ‘rules’ together. Lots more suggested themselves. Some people suggested their own. two years on, and here we are.

It’s meant to be funny. And it’s meant to be serious. The more I’ve worked on it, the more privileged I have felt to be part of this pastoral and missional and comforting and challenging ministry. As the book emerged I realised that I was using it to remind myself that, even after the most baffling of PCC meetings or ridiculous of complaints, this role is like no other. That’s what the last ‘rule’ in the book says.

DaveI’m chuffed that Dave Walker agreed to do the brilliant illustrations. We’d never met until three days ago, when we pitched tents next to each other at Greenbelt. And I’m chuffed that Bishop Nick Baines endorsed it so warmly, even ordering clergy to buy it. Mind you: ‘You can always tell a bishop, but you can’t tell him much.’

Ruth Gledhill has said nice things here (behind The Times’ paywall though).

And I was interviewed by Ritula Shah on BBC R4’s PM too.

If there are other ‘rules’ around, do share them with me. Perhaps the next book will be a communal production. That would be fun…

Order the book here. (And yes, it’s on Amazon too).

§ 3 Responses to Rules for Reverends

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rules for Reverends at Jeremy Fletcher's Blog.

meta

